uuworld.org: liberal religion and life

Introducing UU World Digital

Buddhist basics

Central concepts in Buddhism.
By James Ishmael Ford
Summer 2007 5.15.07

Printer friendly version


The four truths

Often described as Buddhism’s central insights

  • Dukkha: Life is marked by unsatisfactoriness
  • Samudaya: Unsatisfactoriness is caused by grasping
  • Nirodha: Unsatisfactoriness can have an end
  • Marga: The “middle way,” or eightfold path of liberation

The eightfold path

The middle way, or path of liberation

  • Right view
  • Right resolve
  • Right speech
  • Right conduct
  • Right livelihood
  • Right effort
  • Right mindfulness
  • Right concentration

Three marks of existence

Perceived in meditation, they lead to wisdom

  • Anitya, the impermanence of things
  • Anatman, the insubstantiality of ego identity
  • Dukkha, pervasive unsatisfactoriness

The five precepts

Ethical rules for laypeople

  • Not killing
  • Not stealing
  • Not misusing sex
  • Not lying
  • Not becoming intoxicated

Three schools of Buddhism

  • Theravada, the ‘way of the elders’: South and Southeast Asia (exluding Vietnam)
  • Mahayana, the ‘great vehicle’: China, Korea, Japan, and Vietnam, including Zen, Pure Land, Lotus, and others
  • Vajrayana, the ‘diamond way’: Tibet and Mongolia

See sidebar for links to more stories and related resources.

more spirit
more ideas
more life